de | en

Home

News

VCG

Contact

Imprint

Administration


Virtual Campus Graz


Network Services for Dorms

In all participating dormitories it is possible to use network access to the university campus and further to the Internet with high transmission rates directly in the room in the dormitory - and this since many years, when in Vienna only single Internet rooms were connected in a few dormitories.

The student dormitories are connected to the ACOnet-POP with optical fibers, depending on the size of the dormitory with symmetrical bandwidths between 30 and 400 Mb/s.
The external connection is protected by a firewall, which - apart from the protection functionality - works relatively transparently.

The ACOnet-internal connection is theoretically multi-10 Gb/s-capable, 10 Gb/s are currently really switched.
The (chargeable) international connection is borne by the Federal Ministry, paid 2 Mb/s per 100 residents in each dorm, with 1 Mb/s costing EUR 1,200/year - in other words, the Ministry pays EUR 2,400/year per 100 residents.
Since the bandwidths of the universities are not used very much at night, the ACOnet participants have been "gifting" additional bandwidth to the dorms at night since 2009, which means that between 16:00 and 09:00 and on weekends there is a much better overall connection for the dorms: the Nightline with theoretically up to 32 times the total bandwidth, limited by the physically maximum available total bandwidth of 10 Gb/s at present. During the day, the contractual bandwidth may also be exceeded, but "only" up to 16 times.

To be able to use this internet access, each resident must be assigned a VCG account by the dorm admin (your dorm administration will give you this name). There is then a monthly transfer limit per account.

Server of VCG

Further Information:

vc-graz Newsgroup

Home

Aktuelles

Der VCG

Software

Kontakt

Impressum

Administration


Virtueller Campus Graz


Netzwerkdienste für Studierendenheime

In allen teilnehmenden Heimen ist es möglich, direkt im Zimmer im Heim einen Netzwerkzugang zum Universitätscampus und weiter ins Internet mit hoher Übertragungsrate nutzen zu können - und das seit vielen Jahren, als in Wien erst einzelne Internet-Zimmer in wenigen Heimen angeschlossen wurden.

Die Studierendenheime sind mit dem ACOnet-POP mit Glasfasern verbunden, je nach Heimgröße mit symmetrischen Bandbreiten zwischen 30 und 200 Mb/s.
Die externe Anbindung wird durch ein IPS geschützt, das — abgesehen von der Schutzfunktionalität — relativ transparent arbeitet:
Am IPS ist lediglich P2P gesperrt. Weitere Einschränkungen gibt es nur in Bezug auf die erlaubten DNS- und NTP-Server sowie Microsoft-Netzwerkdienste.

Die ACOnet-interne Anbindung ist theoretisch multi-10 Gb/s-fähig, 10 Gb/s sind derzeit wirklich geschaltet.
Die (kostenpflichtige) internationale Anbindung wird vom Bundesministerium getragen, gezahlt werden je 100 Heimbewohner in jedem Heim 2 Mb/s, wobei 1 Mb/s EUR 1.200/Jahr kostet - anders gesagt: das Ministerium zahlt je 100 Bewohner EUR 2.400/Jahr.
Da die Bandbreiten der Universitäten in der Nacht nicht sehr stark ausgenutzt werden, „schenken“ die ACOnet-Teilnehmer den Heimen seit 2009 in der Nacht weitere Bandbreite, wodurch es zwischen 16:00 Uhr und 09:00 und am Wochenende eine insgesamt deutlich bessere Anbindung für die Heime gibt: die Nightline mit theoretisch bis zur 32-fachen Gesamtbandbreite, beschränkt durch die physikalisch maximal verfügbare Gesamtbandbreite von derzeit 10 Gb/s. Auch am Tag darf der vertragliche Bandbreite überzogen werden, allerdings „nur“ bis zum 16-fachen.

Um diesen Internetzugang nutzen zu können, muß jedem Bewohner vom Heimadmin (diesen nennt Ihnen Ihre Heimverwaltung) ein VCG-Account zugeteilt werden, pro Account gibt es dann ein monatliches Transferlimit.

Server des VCG

Weitere Informationen:

vc-graz-Newsgroup